You can’t gauge the quality of an anime simply by the studio behind it…

Pic by saitom (NSFW)

I’m not a fan of how people like to check what studio will do what anime before it airs as a mean to gauge it’s quality? It’s a fact, any studio is capable of doing great stuff as well as the worst thing ever. Just look at JC Staff, a year ago I loathed them for making indecent shows like Ookami-san, Yumekui Merry and Hidan no Aria and now I’m praising them for Kimi to Boku. It’s not the studio itself that counts, it’s the staff.

Speaking of staff, there’s almost the same issue with directors. Saying a show is bad or good because of a director is stupid. Everything isn’t his fault. I’m pretty sure there’s cases of shows where the director is not allowed to do what he wants (By higher executives/Shogakukan or whatever)  and cases where you can clearly see the particular touch of the director.

Pic by フタゴモナド  (NSFW)

A few examples: Aoki Ei, the guy who directed the first movie of Kara no Kyoukai is the same guy who directed Girls Bravo (If you don’t know it, let’s just say it’s some B-rated harem show no one remembers that’s not good but not bad either, well at least from my memory, I’m pretty kind, I bet it’s much worse than what I remember). Kara no Kyoukai is one of my favorite anime ever. He’s also directing Fate/Zero, which everyone says it’s awesome (I dunno if it’s true as I don’t watch it for now). Maybe he just gained experience in 5 years but still, going from directing Girls Bravo to Fate/Zero… obviously the director isn’t the main factor in determining a show’s quality.

A good recent example of where I think the director had a definite influence is the Redline movie (Koike Takeshi). That’s definitely what they call an “author’s work” in cinema or whatever.  He almost did everything himself.
Another less known example is Yozakura Quartet’s OADs directed by Ryo-Timo, you can clearly see his touch if you’ve seen some of his previous works (his .gifs, Beck…)
Shinkai Makoto is another great example.

Feel free to say so if you agree/disagree.

Unrelated: I guess I’m not the only guy watching Pretty Rhythm Aurora Dream who also likes hot blooded stuff

This entry was posted in Anime in general, Artists, Opinions on..., Yozakura Quartet and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

