A TV anime’s length

madoka kyouko artist 真矢村明 post

Source

Mondaiji already ended last week. It was so short. Way too short. I know I keep saying that you shouldn’t judge shows without watching them first, but there’s one thing I always keep track of before a show starts: I believe the longer a show is, the stronger chances it’ll have to be good. You need time to make a good show, in order to develop the stories and characters. The shorter the series, the harder it is.

I’m always surprised to hear someone tell me they stopped watching Aikatsu simply because they learned that it’s 50 episodes and that they don’t have the courage to stick with it until the end, while I’m thoroughly delighted each time I remember this fact, thinking about all the fun I’ll be having. There’s very few 10~13 episode anime that are all time favorites of mine. It needs to be at least be 25~26 episodes. And even 26 episodes feels short to me at times.

As an example, Madoka Magica aired two years ago. I think it was a good show, but I certainly don’t like it as much as some people who would call it a masterpiece. There’s a good chance I would’ve liked it more if it was 26 episodes. Of course, OVAs and movies are a whole different story.

This entry was posted in Aikatsu!, Anime in general, Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica, Mondai-Ji-tachi ga Isekai Kara Kuru sou Desu yo?, Mouretsu Pirates, Opinions on... and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A TV anime’s length

  1. ahmsab says:

    wow , just wow … I just stumbled on your blog while googling stuff about maria , and im quite surprised to find someone else who likes the same three sacred things as I do namely : Maria , umineko and kaijura yuki . And even though our taste in anime is quite diffrent , I think I can give you some nice reccomendations about VNs / LNs .

    And as for the topic 😛 , I personally like when an anime is 22-26 animes ,it gives more time to explore the story , that being said , I don’t mind when the story itself is short , however when they try to cramp the story into a 12 episode series it gets to my nerves in a lot of cases .With mondaitachi it was quite rediculous , the series has a lot of potential I can tell the source material is quite good , but for the sake of cramping it , they simplify the story and characters to an annoying degree , I just hope we get a second season : /

Leave a Reply

