Pri Para starts in a few days now (5th of July)

prad5 akaii meganee

AKAII MEGANEE IS CUTE

Long note: Pretty Rhythm and now Pri Para were never too popular in the English speaking community (though in Pri Para’s case it’s normal for now as the show hasn’t started yet), so sites like ANN sometimes take really long to relay news related to it.
For example, when the official sites opened and the characters’ profiles were revealed, ANN took something like 2 weeks to post about it. ANN is a good site, it’s just that they take really long to report on things that aren’t popular (that won’t generate clicks). The 8th of June, they reported about the new Strike Witches OVA 4 hours or so after it’s announcement, which is super fast in my opinion. The site definitely does its job, but only when it comes to decently popular things. No one really cares about Pretty Rhythm news in the English speaking anime community, and I want to know these news, so I started looking for them myself and that’s why I started reporting them myself. I’m now doing the same for Pri Para, but to a lesser extant as I’m not as enthusiastic about it.
(I like the first Strike Witches LN but I never watched the anime series)
Pri Para gonna start soon now, so there’s way more info coming out compared to 2-3 months ago. ANN is now doing a good job at regurgitating the news but I’ll try to post about what they missed here.
I also don’t wanna make a post about every single Pri para thing revealed, so starting now till the show starts, I think I’ll just update this post for new things, adding a date.
If I can manage to watch the Pri Para school things the 21st and the 28th June and if they show interesting stuff I’ll try to post it here too.

4th July update:

I actually really did watch the two Pri Para School today. Thanks to the participation of Hamaguchi Masaru, the studio sequences are actually pretty funny. His jokes at the i☆Ris girls too, saying they react like old women when he said they’re cute. The Prizmmy girls are funny too.
Kuma narrates the show. I don’t particularly like his voice but I appreciate it’s not the super acute kind of voice some mascots in little girls show often have. Think Rabbitchi and co in Aurora Dream. Though I ended up liking them after a while.
Sophie sounds cool like I expected. I think she’ll be my favorite like I already said.

As expected I didn’t like much the part with Karin and Miya chatting with LaalaMireilleSophie in the recording studio. I can stand Japanese variety programs to a certain extent, but I don’t like it much when it involve idols. They always talk with their fake acute voices and over overact everything. I say over overacting because everything is already over acted in Japanese shows like these. Karin and Miya are funny though.

They didn’t really say new or interesting things. Not even gonna bother mentioning them since we should see it when the show airs anyway. Stuff like how Mireille adds “puri” at the end of her sentences when she plays her idol character. I don’t really care either about seiyuus anecdotes like how Kubota Miyu/Sophie gets hungry when recording and always bring dried fruits, so this is the only story I’ll bring up.

Dance part at the end of the first one was pretty funny. It’s nice they say pri para in the song too. OP songs made particularly for an anime are cool.

prad5 school 01

They also announced who won the Laala dress design contest.  Totally forgot about it.
Apparently boys sent designs too. Two of the last twenty are by boys. I found it pretty funny. And one of them is called Hibiki kun hahahaha. So cute. The pudding like design he did isn’t bad at all. like they pointed out.

prad5 school 02

That’s the winner. Looking forward to seeing it in the anime.

Part 2 with the visit to Tatsunoko was the most interesting of the two by far. It’s always great to see things like this as you don’t see it often.

prad5 school 03

I can’t figure out the drawing at Tatsunoko’s entrance. Seems it’s a mix up of different shows Tatsunoko did. I think the red one with the cape at the bottom is Polymar. Can’t see well for the others.

Watching Reina and the new Prizmmy girl Hina tour a bit the studio was pretty fun. Too bad it was all acted.

prad5 school 04

For a few quarter of seconds here, You can see a sheet of paper with something written. The sentences are the next two sentences they say a few seconds later. It would have been cool to see Reina’s natural reactions of visiting the studio where they made DMF, a show that starred her and her group. Reina is the funniest in IRL Prizmmy too, from what I remember at least.

Sadly they didn’t actually say anything interesting about the CG, only stuff everyone already knows. That visit to Tatsunoko was kinda wasted. It was more like of an introduction for the kids who never seen Pretty Rhythm before, explaining PriPara will have a hand animated part and dance scenes done with CG. Then as it might be weird to suddenly switch from hand to CG and vice versa, they try to make the CG look as much as possible to the hand drawings. Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeh… I feel like I take the few people who’ll actually read this like idiots but it’s to show that it’s pretty much what they did in that part.
(As a side note, I also think the perfect CG would be one so close to the hand drawings you wouldn’t notice it’s actually CG. Pretty Rhythm is doing a really good job with that since Rainbow Live. PriPara is even better.
Side note 2: I say hand drawing but as you know they use computers for some parts of it too. Hand only animation doesn’t exist anymore on tv.)
Not gonna take pics of the horror Reina did with the Laala 3D model. Still getting shivers from it. Typically the type of things I’m really not good with.

I already knew from the PRRL guidebook they use motion capture but seeing it in movement like that was cool.

prad5 school 05

Laala’s sign contest winner which will appear in the anime.

They also said Hamaguchi Masaru will voice a side character in the show.That part was actually interesting because when he asked him about it, the producer of PriPara Takabayashi Yosuke implied that there won’t be any main male character in the show. Then they went to the recording studio and recorded the scene you can see in episode 1. He voices the middle aged guy who’s a regular customer at Laala’s family pizza restaurant.
I guess they did a good job with theese two specials to hype the show up.

Older updates are after the read more.

30th June update:

The show airs in only a few days  now so frankly I don’t really care about new news or pics. We’ll see it all this saturday anyway.

18th June update:

The Pri Para official Twitter account announced that the 29th of June there’s going to be a Pri Para live event on Nico Nico. It’s one hour long from 21:00 to 22:00 Japanese time. They say it’s a special program right before the anime’s launch the next week. It’ll feature Akaneya Himika/Serizawa Yuu/Kubota Miyu Laala/Mireille/Sophie. I don’t think I’ll watch it live but I’ll try to see what people say about it on Twitter if they said anything interesting in it.

prad5 poster from director twitterprad3 prad5 posters posted by director

Pretty Rhythm director tweeted these pics today. I guess someone’s desk at Tatsunoko, maybe his, he didn’t say. He said that “Pri Para’s 3D is even more evolved than Rainbow Live’s 3D”, so this makes me super excited. Speaking of that, as of today my exams are over, so I should be posting about anything interesting he tweeted these past ~5 weeks soon.
Lastly, I forgot to say: They announced the Pretty Rhythm All Star Selection Guide Book which will be released the 18th of July. I haven’t read much about it for now but seems it’ll be just like the RL guidebook but with AD and DMF along with RL stuff so that’s makes me really happy. Already preordered it. I’ll post more about it in the next twitter&news post.

14th June update:

Like I said in a news&twitter post I don’t remember when, Takara Tommy has a booth at Tokyo Toy Show 2014. It started the 12th of June and they’re showing off Pri Para stuff. ANN posted today about how the official sites upped this ad for the anime today. That ad was actually broadcasted at the Tokyo Toy Show already, so there were pics of it online since Thursday. I could have posted about it on Thursday but I was too busy playing Final Fantasy Reishiki. I really wanted to post about the new Akaii Meganee though, still as perfect as ever. Akaii Meganee is so cute. I think she looks more like her AD/DMF design than RL here. In my dreams, she’s also still secretly pulling the strings of all Pretty Rhythm multiverses and now Pri Para too, and is the ultimate villain. She’s immortal and a dimension traveler, so she definitely has a screw loose or two. They just don’t say it because they don’t want to traumatize little girls.

As you can see in the ad, Laala has her hair short compressed into buns when she’s not in idol mode. Feels even more like a Creamy Mami clone now, except no blue hair.
The Laala crying funny face shows they’re going to start using visual comedy elements again compared to RL. AD and DMF had tons of funny faces and moments with the characters turning into SD. There wasn’t any in RL. Of course you don’t specifically need them to do funny jokes, but RL barely had any funny jokes anyway.

I’m also happy they’re keeping silhouettes. They aren’t denying the era of AD and DMF of no money with super bad animation and no background characters. Truly a spiritual successor of Pretty Rhythm. You can’t be something Pretty Rhythm related if you don’t have cheap looking silhouettes characters in the background. I remember saying the same thing in my first post about Rainbow Live. The animation quality may be way better in RL, they never got rid of the silhouettes, and it makes me happy.
Also someone made me notice the CG silhouettes at 00:06 are homages to the previous heroines, you can see Hye In Aira Bell and others.

prad5 previous heroines silouhetes with names from V_H_M twitter
A nice fan on Twitter wrote the names on the silhouettes.
This makes me realize, I never brought it up because it seems obvious to me but that’s just homages, I highly doubt the previous characters will show up or that PriPara will have any connection to Pretty Rhythm besides immortal super vilain Akai Meganee, Prism Stone and other vague things like this etc.  Of course it’s not like I can see the future and be 100% sure either, that’s just my opinion.

The CG at the end looks great so I’m really excited to see it for real. Rainbow Live literally has the best CG I’ve seen in my life so far, so I’m at least excited about how Pri Para should have the best CG ever.

One small part of me doesn’t want Pri Para to get poplar cuz MY SKATES, but another bigger part want Pri Para to be a huge success and kick Aikatsu! and Love Live’s butts.
It’s gonna be hilarious if a copy of a copy surpasses the copy.

prad5 from twitter takegaru pripara tv ad prolly

Pretty funny there’s a woman with half Juné drill hair. Probably the Gloria person that this month’s Newtype mentioned. AND WOW IS DAT A VACCUUM ARM?!
I think except Akaii Meganii they haven’t announced any male character for now.

prad5 akaii meganii

He’s in the game so someone at the Tokyo Omocha Show took this pic, which ended up on 2ch, thanks Erasu for telling me about it.

prad5 mascot usagi prad5 mascot kuma

Some days ago the anime official site was updated with the profile of some of the mascot characters of Pri Para. Kuma and Usagi are both idol managers and producers and rivals. I guess Kuma will be for LaalaMireilleSophie and Usagi will be for whoever the hell the rivals are.
The official Pri Para Twitter was launched. You can see pics of the Tokyo Toy Show there too.


Lastly, here’s the usual random news that’s not relevant: They announced the Pri Para Dream Girls Audition that will start in August and end in October. That’s a video of the announcement, thanks Erasu again, was way too lazy to look for that myself. To sum up what Serizawa Yuu/Ann/Mireille says is that girls should participate in auditions and you’ll regret it more if you don’t participate and not believing in yourself rather than failing.
There will be auditions for little girls from 4 to ~12 years old in Japan. The winners will participate in the music video for the song that will serve as the 3rd Pri Para ending theme. You can easily deduct that WOW EXCLUSIVE SPOILERS: the third ending theme of Pri Para will be real life footage. And also, you can deduct that Pri Para’s first year run of 51 episodes will change openings and endings at the end of every cour.
Next, the winners will also get to voice characters in the show.

This entry was posted in Opinions on..., Pretty Rhythm, Pri Para and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Pri Para starts in a few days now (5th of July)

  1. The opening in the background of the PV sounds fantastic! *w* I really hope some fansub will pick it up, since naisho is backing down.

    • solthegrimoire says:

      Even if “official” fansubs aren’t doing it, I will be describing every single camera angel; I am writing down every bit of dialog to go along with the camera shots.

      I may get a tad behind with school coming back in August though…:/

      • solthegrimoire says:

        Yeah…I bailed on that idea…

        I may or may not – school pending – see if I can do a weekly recap of what happened for PriPara.

  2. And I thought that Akai Meganii would look a little bit older than that, because his voice sounds too sexy and mature for that face😄 I heard his work on other animes like Uta-Pri (Ren Jingūji), Space Dandy, and others.

  3. Akane Mia says:

    I think that boy was laala’s love interest.I saw him too in the preview.But,I’m not really sure.

  4. Takamina-chan says:

    This season maybe looks like Lilpri and Full moon wo sagashite.I think Kuma give laala magic and she became older.

  5. Mikiii says:

    I hope this season will be as good as pretty rhythm aurora dream.

  6. Rhythm says:

    Laala n Mireille’s performances

Leave a Reply

