Aikatsu Stars! announced

aikatsu stars! key visual 1

(This is more a joke post than anything, don’t expect me to keep up with the news, though I did edit in the pv)

Staff A, voiced by Shinichiro Miki: Boss! PriPara is murdering us and is everywhere!!
Staff B, voiced by Nakamura Yuichi: At this rate Aikatsu! will die off! What are we gonna do?!
Staff C, voiced by Sugita Tomokazu: Let’s just copy PriPara!
Staff D, voiced by Nakata Jouji: TAWAKE! We already copied Pretty Rhythm with Aikatsu, the same trick won’t work twice!
Staff E, voiced by Furuya Toru: True, a Saint level aidoru never falls for the same attack a second time…
Staff F, voiced by Hayami Show: You don’t need to be a Jenius to know this.
Staff G, voiced by Tsuda Kenjiro: I told you guys we should have stopped Aikatsu after s1 and made it into a little girls card game but you didn’t listen. By now we’d have stuff like BURU AIZU ICHIGO DORAGON!!!
Boss Staff, voiced by Takehito Koyasu: Everyone shut up!!  So what if this puny PriPara rules the market now? I’ll tell you what we’re gonna do. Aikatsu worked and was more popular than this stupid rhythm prism show. Aikatsu is eternal!! Aikatsu is MUGEN NO KANOSEI!! Thus, for the new Aikatsu, we will COPY AIKATSU!!

All staff: NAAAANIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII

LITERALLY NOTAOI, NOTICHIGO, NOTRAN AND NOTKII. THIS IS THE IDEA OF THE CENTURY.

Edit: They released a bid the 27th. pv starts at 9:30

aikatsu starts notkii aikatsu starts notaoi aikatsu starts notran 1

They even recycled the seiyuus too. Tadokoro Azusa/Aoi is voicing Notkii. Morohoshi Sumire/Ichigo is voicing NotAoi. AND OHASHI AYAKA/RAN IS VOICING NOTRAN. They aren’t even trying to hide the recyclage for her. It’s like they have no shame.
I wonder if the seiyuus voices and singing voice will be the same for Aikatsu Stars. Not that I care anyway.

This is so hilarious. When I first saw this pic I genuinely though it was grown up Aoi Ichigo and Ran, and that they’re doing a timeskip. It was very low res pics so you couldn’t see the eye colors etc are different. And I guess I just thought Ichigo’s hair got lighter. But nope, they actually just recycled and mixed designs together. Blue hair horns got Seira’s ponytail and Aoi’s hair color, etc.

I wonder how this will turn out. I stopped watching Aikatsu! after s1 and I don’t think I’ll watch Aikatsu Stars! either. So I’m kind of indifferent to these news.  I don’t decide whether to watch a series or not based on character design, but I guess if I had to comment, I’m not fond of this new chara design. It’s trying too hard to be cute, something I reproach to many things these days. It’s the same thing I don’t like about Melua’s new face for OGMD.

srw ogmd melua

One of the things I liked about Aikatsu! is the character design. The characters don’t have ultra pale skin like stuff like Wake Up Girls, don’t have blush on every joints and cheeks like if they’re polishing their skin every morning like in Love Live, and they have noses. Even though I stopped watching Aikatsu, I slightly kept in touch with it, so I saw all the new characters are always super cute, like the Flamenco girl or Miyabi.

aikatsu 125 ran model ran is best aikatsu

It’s a real shame they changed the chara design.

I’m not saying stuff like “Aikatsu is copying Pretty Rhythm again and doing stuff like adding a boys unit”, because while the pv says there’s a boys unit, we don’t know yet if they’ll be actual main characters like in Pretty Rhythm, or only appear every 10 episodes. Same with the S4 being potential rivals, we don’t know yet if there will be actual rivalry. And as this point, since they already copied Pretty Rhythm once anyway, you could just argue that instead of copying Pretty Rhythm, they’re just copying older shoujo shows like Pretty Rhythm did.

They did copy stuff from PriPara for the game. In Aikatsu Stars’ arcade game you’ll now be able to make your own character like in PriPara, and get customized cards.

I always wanted to do a collage of everything Aikatsu copied from Pretty Rhythm, to complete this “Aikatsu S1 Appeals copied from Prism Jumps” collage that someone once made:

aikatsu copying pretty rhythm's jumps prad can aikatsu do anything original prad

Then, to make it fun and so little girls don’t get angry, I’d also add coincidences and things that actually haven’t been copied like this:

prad3 aikatsu mizuki beru aikatsu copied pretty rhythm joke

But I’ve always been reluctant of making some little girls angry and ruin their day. Maybe I’ll just put “this is a joke” on the collage. Or I should do a reverse psychology joke and say the collage is how Pretty Rhythm copied things from Aikatsu.

This entry was posted in Aikatsu!, Opinions on... and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Aikatsu Stars! announced

  1. I also found another thing Aikatsu! copied from Pretty Rhythm: The song “Pretty Pretty” from Season 3 sounds very similar to “Mera Mera Haato Ga Atsuku Naru” from Pretty Rhythm Aurora Dream.

Leave a Reply

