PriPara Creamy Mami collaboration officialy announced, Status on PriPara anime blogging

prad5 creamy mami collab

I’m still planning to blog PriPara, It’s just not my priority these days. I also need to try to write a post to explain all the latest discriminatory stuff happening in France these days. well technically it’s been happening for decades but you know what I mean.

The Weekend of the 20th August at the Ciao Summer Festival 2016 they officially announced the Creamy Mami collaboration I mentioned some weeks ago.

Edit: On Aguust 22 they published a PV for the collab

They also showed a new character and the girl from the start of s3 who will join Non to make a new team. I still think they will reboot PriPara after s3, with new characters instead of Laala and co. They should announce the new season in late December or January like always.
And the reason why they’re doing the puzzle mobile game is so people who miss Laala and the first series characters will play it.

One of the reasons the franchise is called “PriPara” is to have a short name, compared to “Pretty Rhythm”, so when they reboot I don’t think they’ll add a word to it. Or it’ll be something short, like “PriPara Go”. In fact I think they may try to do something like Pokemon Go, using the smartphones they’re already selling.

Also, I found an old draft I wrote around 3 years ago, back when Rainbow Live was still airing and they had just announced Pretty Rhythm All Star Selection, and they showed Laala’s design for the first time. It’s really fun how right I was so I’m publishing it for fun. Just in case, I’m not disappointed about PriPara not being Pretty Rhythm anymore. I was never disappointed about that actually.
I criticized PriPara season 1 nonstop during it’s run because it was genuinely below average. S2 was much better, and a genuinely good show. However it still had tons of bad or weird plot choices, and unfunny jokes.

Anyway here’s the ~2014 old short post:

Since the new heroine is holding a mic, what if this new season focuses on singing and idoling, and removes all the sports anime elements? Will I be unable to say how Pretty Rhythm isn’t an idol show but a girls sports show anymore?
It’s not like I get mad when someone calls Pretty Rhythm an idol show, but I genuinely think it isn’t.

The other day I saw an interesting discussion on the 2ch Pretty Rhythm thread; It asked what would you classify Pretty Rhythm as. I already have my own opinion on it, but this made me learn a few things:

Seems like in Japan, kids’ ideas of “idol anime” is something cute, cool etc, because most little girls dream of becoming an idol. It’s pretty different to the representation that people make in their head of you say “idol anime” in English speaking communities/older people/otaku in general.

If you say “idol” to the anime english speaking communities/older people/otaku in general, they’ll have a completely different vision of it. The little girl vision is stuff like Pretty Rhythm, the otaku vision is stuff like Love Live. But these  have nothing in common besides CG singing.

This entry was posted in Opinions on..., Pri Para. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

