Looking forward to Yoru no Nai Kuni 2

I really liked 1’s story so this is the part I’m awaiting the most here. I hope they did a good job. While I never wrote a post about it, Yoru no Nai Kuni 1 really pleasantly surprised me with how it wasn’t just a random yuri story or a “gotta sacrifice someone to save the world” story that you’ve already seen in the first part of ToS or FF10.

I’m a bit disappointed there’s no male characters this time, as Simon, Arukado and Lloyd were all great characters in 1, and especially really funny. Speaking of that, I guess the monocle+rifle girl called Camilla Arukado is Arukado’s daughter? Because the magazines articles before 1’s release actually spoiled quite a bit of the game’s story, I refrained from watching anything this time, except a few PVs like the one above, as I wanted to check how the game runs on Switch. If Camilla is Arukado’s daughter, it’s pretty amazing he actually managed to get married, considering his personality. I hope Arukado 2 is as fun as her possible father. And I hope all the characters are well written and not just there to make a Yuri harem for Aloushe. Hoping we’ll get to play again as Arnath too.

One thing I’m looking forward to as well is the battle system. From what I’ve seen of it, I’m not too reassured about the changes they made compared to 1, but I’ll have to wait until actually playing the game before judging. One thing sure is I don’t like the “button mashing for more damage” thing during special attacks. I wouldn’t go so far as to say I loved YNNK1’s battle system, since it’s mostly the same as a Musou game, with its good and bad points, but I really liked how Arnath herself can’t deal good damage (at least until you unlock the bonus sword or at least the hammer) and how you really need to use your Servans well to defeat enemies. I really like battle systems where you indirectly control characters like that. Like in The Last Remnant or Ogre Battle March of The Black Queen. I need a good balance though, I’m not fan of having partial or no control when it’s coupled with elements which makes it a real chore, like getting a game over if the main character dies (Persona 3).
And judging from the PVs, it looks like Aroushe can do lotsof damage and has a lot more of attack possibilities, thanks to the girl you can tag along with. Seems using and manipulating your Servans isn’t the focus anymore. But I guess the girl you can bring along with you in battle is basically a Servan as well.
Planning to get the game in Japanese like 1, so looking forward to the release on August 31.

This entry was posted in Games, Opinions on... and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

